Harris sworn in on school board


Bruce Harris was sworn in as the new District 2 member of the Wayne County Board of Education Tuesday night.

The Board unanimously approved Ray Davidson's motion to name Harris to the seat, and Probate Judge Tammy Thornton immediately swore him in.

Both Harris and District 1 candidate Joe McPipkin were elected in May to take office in January.

The District 2 seat became vacant with the felony conviction of former school board member Janet Royal last month, though, and the Board became responsible for appointing a replacement to finish out the term. That action was awaiting only receipt of the proper paperwork from the Georgia Secretary of State's Office.

School Superintendent Jay Brinson confirmed at the outset of the meeting Tuesday that the required paperwork had arrived.

Other Board members include Mitch Sutton in District 1 and re-elected incumbents Ellis (District 5), Ray Davidson (District 3) and Sheron Daniel (District 4).

Add to Second Slider: 

The Press-Sentinel

Mailing Address: 
252 W. Walnut St.
Jesup, Georgia 31545
Phone: 912-427-3757
Fax: 912-427-4092