• Article Image Alt Text

Armstrong wins Jesup race; Odum rejects Sunday alcohol

Shirlene Armstrong won and Sunday alcohol sales in Odum lost Tuesday.

Armstrong, the only incumbent with opposition in Jesup’s city election, retained her District 1 seat by defeating former commissioner Ricky Reddish 106-63,

And in Odum, two referendums on Sunday alcohol sales were voted down.

Odum voters rejected Sunday package sales 32-26 and Sunday sales by the drink 40-24.

The five candidates still actively running won the five at-large Odum City Council seats. Totals were 57 for Greg Leggett, 56 for Samantha Griffis, 54 for incumbent Kathy Rozier, 53 for incumbent Kevin Higgs and 52 for incumbent Willie McLaughlin.

Thomas Brannen, who had announced his withdrawal from the Odum City Council race but never filed the required paperwork, received 16 votes.

Greg Rozier was running without opposition for Odum mayor.

Mayor Brian Nipper and Council members Dave Titus and Jim Westberry did not run for re-election.

In Jesup, all of the incumbents won re-election, including Mayor David Earl Keith, District 2 Commissioner Don Darden, District 3 Commissioner Nick Harris, District 4 Commissioner Stanley Todd, District 5 Commissioner Ray House and District 6 Commissioner Bill Harvey.

Voter turnout was 22.3 percent in Jesup’s District 1 and 25.2 percent in Odum.

Overall voter turnout in the two city elections, including the five Jesup districts with no contested seat, was 8.9 percent.


Add to Second Slider: 

The Press-Sentinel

Mailing Address: 
252 W. Walnut St.
Jesup, Georgia 31545
Phone: 912-427-3757
Fax: 912-427-4092